Cig Harvey

Cig Harvey – ‘You an Orchestra You a Bomb’

Cig Harvey’s series ‘You an Orchestra You a Bomb’ – “a beautiful exploration of the artist’s relationship with life itself paying attention to and appreciating the fragile present. The series captures moments of awe, makes icons of the everyday, and looks at life on the threshold between magic and disaster. Cig has always experienced the world viscerally and this work shows a heightened awareness of the temporary nature of life.

Through breathless moments of beauty,  her images propel us to fathom the sacred in the split-seconds of everyday.  Cig’s photographs are interwoven with her intimate poetry…”

Cig Harvey – You an Orchestra You a Bomb


The series is published as the third monograph in her remarkable collection continuing on the theme of family in her whimsical style and mastering the mix of images and text.

Source – ‘You an Orchestra You a Bomb’ book.


Cig Harvey – ‘Gardening at Night’

Cig Harvey’s ‘Gardening at Night’ – a personal collection that captures an experience of the world that is at once otherworldly and yet instantly familiar.

Cig Harvey - Gardening at night

Cig Harvey – Gardening at night


“The narrative throughout has a delicious element of magical realism – the viewer is left with the feeling of waking within a dream. On the other hand there is familiarity in what she evokes – something primal and instinctual that points to each person’s connection to nature. Seasons figure prominently as metaphors for the cycle of life, and interplays between shadow and light underscore the work.“

The series is included in a photo book, where the artist’s photographs are interwoven with her intimate poetry.

To learn more about the artist’s life path and thoughts behind the series watch her presentation at School of Visual Arts